Skip to content

Antena \ En Cavale [TWI 610 CD]

En Cavale is the debut solo album by Isabelle Antena, originally issued by Les Disques du Crépuscule in April 1986.

Following the demise of the original Antena trio, En Cavale ('on the run') saw Isabelle transition from minimalist electro-samba to smooth pop sophistication. Largely produced by Martin Hayles (Rip It Up era Orange Juice) the album's synth and dance-pop stylings embrace disco (Be Pop, Don't Think About It), Latin jazz (Play Back) and chilled ballads (Seaside Weekend, Ten Minutes). Little wonder, for at the time Antena cited Stan Getz, Astrud Gilberto and Sister Sledge as prime influences.

The remastered CD features seven bonus tracks including b-sides and the 12" mixes of singles Be Pop and Life Is Too Short. Artwork by Benoît Hennebert.

CD tracklist:

1. Play Back
2. Easy Street
3. Seaside Weekend
4. Ten Minutes
5. How Can They Tell?
6. Be Pop
7. Magic Words
8. Booby Trap
9. Life Is Too Short
10. Don't Think About It
11. Blow the World Away
12. Mummy's Not At Home
13. Time to Work
14. Behind the Door
15. Be Pop (12")
16. Life Is Too Short (12")

Available on CD only. CD copies ordered from LDDC are slipcased. To order please select correct shipping option (UK, Europe or Rest of World) and click on Add To Cart button below the cover image.

Or, you can order with the option of tracked shipping from our friends at Burning Shed (click here to order)

En Cavale [TWI 610 CD] - Isabelle Antena
CD shipping options


"Effortlessly sleek and undeniably sensual" (NME, 09/1984)

"Isabelle quite possibly bears one of the finest voices of the last 20 years of popular (or unpopular) music. She stands on her own actually so suited is her voice for the warm breeze tones that whirls around these discs, so comfortable her attitude is mirrored in the jocularity of South America, the laziness of Spain and the scented beauty of the South of France" (The Big Takeover, 3/2005)

"That Isabelle Antena didn't make a bigger splash with this album at the time is downright remarkable, though at least those who listen to it now will be well rewarded" (All Music Guide, 04/2005)

"En Cavale reflected the singer's renewed interest in matters Chic, Sister Sledge and Nile Rodgers, and it shows. There's a stunning cover of the Sledge's Easy Street, as well as slap-bass heavy funk workouts such as Life Is Too Short and the superior brassy Magic Words. Further afield, there's cosmopolitan pop in the shape of Be Pop and How Can They Tell and a slight nod back to the earlier bossa chops of her previous band on Playback and the delectable Seaside Weekend. What truly stands out on this album, apart from the strong songs, is the production, the musicians and Antena's vocal harmonies. Firstly Martin Hayles, one of Britain's most underrated yet polished producers of his time (he'd worked on Orange Juice's crossover album Rip It Up and would go on to work with Billy Bragg, Van Morrison, Shara Nelson and Will Young, as well as further work with Isabelle), turned En Cavale into sophisticated hit-material, if only someone would have listened, 9 out of 10" (Flipside, 7/2013)